Everything you need to know about Canada Express Entry Points

Everything you need to know about Canada Express Entry Points

August 24, 2019

In this post, we will walk through the Canada Express Entry Points System.

It might be referred by many other terms, including Canada PR Points, Canada Immigration Points, Canada Skilled Worker Points, etc, but the official name called by IRCC (previously CIC) is the Comprehensive Ranking System (CRS) score. Within this post, we will use the name Canada Express Entry Points.

Before we start, you need to get familiar with these terms/definitions:

  • IRCC / CIC
  • Express Entry Program
  • Comprehensive Ranking System


Previously, the Canadian government department that handles immigration is Citizenship and Immigration Canada (CIC), then renamed to Immigration, Refugees and Citizenship Canada (IRCC) in late 2015. The name CIC is still being referred somewhere but it’s the same as IRCC.

What is the Express Entry?

Express Entry is a Canadian government system to organize and process applications for skilled and qualified workers who want to immigrate to Canada and acquire Canadian Permanent Residence (PR). After submitting an Expression of Interest (EOI) form, you will have an Express Entry profile in the Express Entry pool and if you meed the requirements, the Canadian Government will send you en invitation to apply for Permanent Residence.

Three immigration programs are using the Express Entry system:

  • Federal Skilled Worker (FSW)
  • Federal Skilled Trades (FST)
  • Canadian Experience Class (CEC)

What is the Comprehensive Ranking System?

Comprehensive Ranking System (CRS) is a points-based system that Immigration, Refugees and Citizenship Canada (IRCC) uses to access and rank your profile in the Express Entry (EE) pool. 

When do you need to calculate your Canada Express Entry Points?

As mentioned below, the Canada Express Entry Points are used for the Express Entry Programs, so it’s useful to calculate your points if you’re interested in applying to one of the Express Entry Program. Depending on which immigration program you are applying to, there will be different Express Entry Points requirements, but in overall, it used to assess your:

  • Skills
  • Education
  • Language ability
  • Work experience
  • Some other factors

So you Express Entry point is the total points for all the factors considered above, grouped into two sets: a core set of points up to 600 and a set of additional points of up to 600. Your maximum point is 1200.

Core set includes:

  1. Skills and experience factors
  2. Spouse or common-law partner factors, such as their language skills and education
  3. Skills transferability, including education and work experience

Additional set includes:

  1. Canadian degrees, diplomas or certificates
  2. a valid job offer
  3. a nomination from a province or territory
  4. a brother or sister living in Canada who is a citizen or permanent resident
  5. strong French language skills

Every two weeks, IRCC will conduct an Express Entry draw and determine a cutoff score and invite the candidates with the highest points to apply for Canadian Immigration.

How about the FSW point?

The Federal Skilled Worker (FSW) uses a separate points system in addition to Express Entry points. It’s called FSW point.

Don’t get it wrong, this immigration program still uses Express Entry point system as any other immigration programs, but to be eligible, you also have to meet a minimum required FSW score, which now is 67 out of 100.

So in short, if you are applying to Federal Skilled Worker Program, you first have to pass 67 FSW score to be eligible, after that the Express Entry point will be calculated as normal.


Leave a Reply

Related Stories

November 29, 2019

Which Government Jobs In Canada Are There For PR Holders?

January 21, 2020

Is IELTS Compulsory For Spouse For Canada Immigration?

January 12, 2020

About Designated Language-Testing Organizations